Why I chose WordPress.com

There are many blog platforms nowadays, most of them are self-hosted, even WordPress itself can be self-hosted. I didn’t want to spend money to pay a server or deal with limitations that free hosting providers might have. Then, the hosted options were considered.

So, why not Blogger or Tumblr? I guess these two are the most popular ones out there. I’ve used WordPress and Blogger in the past, these are the platforms I’m more familiar with, so I prioritize these. I don’t know much about Tumblr, I tried it a little bit to see how it worked, but it seems to be target more on visual content and it looks less flexible than the other platform I was considering.

I guess these two are the most popular ones out there. I’ve used WordPress and Blogger in the past, these are the platforms I’m more familiar with, so I prioritize these. I don’t know much about Tumblr, I tried it a little bit to see how it worked, but it seems to be target more on visual content and it looks less flexible than the other platform I was considering.

Then, why not Blogger?

Blogger seems abandoned, everything looks like the same it was years ago, seems like Google could drop the project at any moment, the iOS app was pulled out of the App Store, so I cannot use the service in my current phone, and this all make me think about the future of Blogger. Google already have a reputation of killing services suddenly, I’d guess that Blogger would be next, sadly.

WordPress it is.

I wanted the writing process to be as simple as possible, I also wanted to read from the same platform I write, and WordPress.com works as something like RSS feed reader, I can add some blogs and sites, see the new stuff. It has a clean text editor for the posts compatible with Markdown, I can manage categories and tags easily, it’s modern and the project is active as always. It has mobile and cross-platform apps. And it’s free.

However, it’s not perfect. There is some stuff I don’t like about the new WordPress, like the new reader that doesn’t let me read the complete articles anymore.

Also compared to Blogger, there are the disadvantages obligatory advertisements from WordPress on the posts, no way to monetize the blog and you can’t put your own domain name in the Free plan. I believe this is a necessary evil to keep WordPress.com offering their Free plan. And I’m okay with it and I will be using WordPress. At least for now.

 

Leave a Reply

